how to create a marble cake

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

I’ve always considered marble cakes a specialty bakery item. I mean, how could a simpleton like me make something so intricately crafted? Well… turns out I can make it. And it’s easy. Reeeeeeally easy. Like, I can make it with a toddler hanging off one leg chucking goldfish at me while dropping toys on my toes repeatedly. Because that happens frequently around these parts.

(True Life: I have a home bakery and a toddler)

To start out, grab some greased cake pans, two large spoons and a knife. I was making two layered cakes, so I have four cake pans, but you can easily get by with one or two.

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

You can use any two batters you choose. I personally like the classic chocolate and vanilla marble cake… because I have wild tastes. I once had a Starbucks Batista make fun of me for taking 10 minutes to settle on “Vanilla Latte”. Like I said, wild. But you could dream up all kinds of exciting combinations! A Neapolitan cake using chocolate and strawberry batter, frosted in vanilla buttercream? A strawberry lemonade cake using strawberry batter and lemon batter? Vanilla cake marbled with vanilla cake frosted in vanilla buttercream? Yeah, that’s more my style.

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

First up, visually divide up your cake pan into quarters.

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Next up, get pouring! Alternate your batter flavors around the pan in quarters, like so.

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Switch which flavor is in which quarter and work your way around the pan again.

 The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Continue working your way around the pan until it is about 2/3 full. It doesn’t have to be pretty, folks!

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Now for the real fun! Grab your knife and begin running it back and forth starting from the top of your pan and working to the bottom. Don’t overdo it or you will lose the marble effect!

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Now you are going to run your knife up and down, perpendicular to your last lines. Work from one side to the other.

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

When you are done it will look a little something like this. Gorgeous, right?

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Repeat with your remaining cake pans.

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Pop them into a 350 degree oven until they spring back to the touch, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

And that’s it! Just frost it, cut yourself a big slice, Instagram it (optional) and enjoy!

-xo- Stacy

The Welch Cupcakery: How to Marble a Cake

Leave a Reply

