{Portfolio} Emma’s Cake

Excuse me for just a second while I grab a box of Kleenex. It’s been on of those days where I can’t turn the waterworks off. You could maybe blame it on the pregnancy… it’s certainly not abnormal for me to cry at the drop of a hat these days, but today something extra heavy is on my heart. Today I handed off a cake to a family to take to their sweet little girl’s memorial service.

Icing Smiles 1

I was recently contacted by a recruiter at Icing Smiles Inc. asking if I would be interested in becoming one of their “Sugar Angels”. I had never even heard of Icing Smiles, but immediately dug into their website and was so impressed with what I saw. A non profit organization that partners with bakers across the country in order to provide free cakes to critically ill children and their siblings. I always love blessing friends and family with cake and cupcakes, especially in times of need, but I never thought I’d be able to use my caking abilities to bless my community in a larger sense. I was sold.

A couple weeks after signing on, I received my first “Call to Action”, as they call them. It was a request for a “zebra and pink princess cake with a ninja turtle tier” for little Emma’s memorial service. Sweet Emma was a fighter, but passed away when she was about a month old. This weekend her family celebrates her life on what would have been her first birthday. Her momma requested I include a ninja turtle layer in the cake as well, I believe for Emma’s big brother to enjoy.

Since the family asked me to pick the flavors for them, I wanted to give them something telling them what each tier is for reference. Normal people would have written it on the box. I’m not normal people. I’m the kind of person that takes 2 hours to design a custom cake menu… and it was too precious not to share.

Cake Anatomy

So, yes, a very emotion filled weekend but I truly do feel so honored to be able to bless the family in this way. I hope the cake brings them some joy! And if you know of anyone you feel may be eligible for an Icing Smiles cake, please check out their website here!

Stacy

Leave a Reply

